Dream like you’ll live forever, Live like you’ll die tomorrow

“In front of the camera, he had an instinct that was nearly uncanny. I don’t recall ever working with anyone who had such a gift. I recall one scene, where he was in a shadow, and had to lift his head to the light. We explained how it should go and he played it exactly right, to the half inch, the first time. He just seemed to know how it should be, without rehearsal or anything.”  William C. Mellor, (cinematographer).

“Every time I go to Europe, I remember that James Dean never saw Europe, but yet I see his face everywhere. There’s James Dean, Humphrey Bogart and Marilyn Monroe – windows of the Champs Elysees, discos in the south of Spain, restaurants in Sweden, t-shirts in Moscow. My life was confused and disoriented for years by his passing. My sense of destiny destroyed – the great films he would have directed, the great performances he would have given, the great humanitarian he would have become, and yet, he’s the greatest actor and star I have ever known.”  Dennis Hopper

“I think there is only one form of greatness for man. If a man can bridge the gap between life and death. I mean, if he can live on after he has died, then maybe he was a great man. To me the only success, the only greatness, is immortality.”  James Dean (February 8, 1931 – September 30, 1955)

 

❤ thy Hunter xx

Leave a Reply

